• 조회수 263l좋아요 0
미디어리뷰 / 독자리뷰 쓰기 한줄댓글 쓰기
    책 내용
    For fans of Ed Young and Peter Sis, this breathtaking picture book, from LBYR's first Emerging Artist Award Winner, Jin Xiaojing, is the perfect read for anyone who has lost a loved one.

    A young girl has never met her grandpa. He passed away before she was born, but she misses him every day. She often wonders...what did he look like?
    Grandma says: His face was shaped like the moon, his mouth was good at telling stories, and his hair was as curly as a bird's nest.
    With the help of her grandma and the rest of her loving family, will this young girl be able to imagine her grandpa's face in her mind--and feel the love that he shared with others?
    출판사 리뷰
    Jin Xiaojing’s child protagonist tries to imagine her grandfather, whom she has never met, based on family resemblances. How do you capture a likeness of someone you’ve never seen? The jury thought the use of illustration in “I Miss My Grandpa” was particularly strong — a variety of visual styles are skillfully dispatched to deftly explore the idea of ancestry and absence. What makes us unique also binds us together.
    — J.T.
그림작가 정보
  • Jin Xiaojing
  •  Jin Xiaojing, the author and illustrator of “I Miss My Grandpa,” in her workspace in Shanghai.


    “I moved to Shanghai after I graduated and have been here for almost a year. The big window, which allows light to enter the room in front of my table, is the reason I chose this place. And I also like to put two tables in the space; one for traditional art, which gives me more inspiration, and one for the digital work on the computer, which helps me to work faster.


    When I was a child, I would listen to my grandma talk about the past. She talked a lot about my grandpa, who died before I was born. His death affected everyone in the family. I saw that my grandpa’s life still existed in every family member who loved him. My love for my family made this book happen. Because I never met him, my imagination of him was unlimited. I imagined grandpa integrating with the universe, rich, abstract, and detailed. Sometimes I can feel the intangible world when I see the world with my heart. The same feeling occurs when I am doing creative activities as well.”

     

한줄댓글
미디어리뷰 / 독자리뷰